EU MEPS in Brief:

EU MEPS (European Minimum Energy Performance Standard ) sets mandatory minimum efficiency levels for electric motors introduced into the European market. It is part of the EU’s ecodesign project, which aims to reduce the energy consumption and other negative environmental impacts of energy-related products. The EU MEPS scheme covers most single speed, three-phase induction motors up to 375 kW (see Scope). It has come into effect in three stages from mid 2011 onwards.


What Motors are included?

EU MEPS covers 2-, 4- and 6-pole single speed, three- phase induction motors in the power range 0.75 to 375 kW, rated up to 1000 V.

It covers all duty types, as long as the motors are capable of continuous duty operation.


The following types of motors are excluded:

– Motors designed to operate wholly immersed in a liquid;

– Motors completely integrated into a product where the motor’s energy performance cannot be tested Independently from the product;

– Motors specifically designed to operate continuously:

- at altitudes exceeding 1000 meters ASL;

- outside the ambient air temperature range of -15°C…+40°C - in maximum operating temperatures above 400°C;

- where the water coolant temperature at the inlet to a product is less than 5°C or exceeds 25°C;

- in potentially explosive atmospheres as defined in Directive 94/9/EC;

– brake motors.


‘Specifically designed’ means that the motor has a special winding, fan, grease, etc. different from a standard motor.


Time line

October 2009: EU adopted Directive 2009/125/EC establishing a framework for the setting of ecodesign requirements for energy-related products (ErP). The requirements apply to electric motors with effect from mid 2011 onwards, giving manufacturers around 2 years to ensure that their products comply. 

16 June 2011 Stage 1: Motors must meet the IE2 efficiency level

1 January 2015 Stage 2: Motors with a rated output of 7.5 – 375 kW must meet EITHER the IE3 efficiency level OR the IE2 level if fitted with a variable speed drive

1 January 2017 Stage 3: Motors with a rated output of 0.75 – 375 kW must meet EITHER the IE3 efficiency level OR the IE2 level if fitted with a variable speed drive


Efficiency Standards based on 4 Pole Motor

(Diagram only for demonstration purposes, data may possibly vary)